The Ultimate Comfort Food: Sweet Potato Mash

Posted on

I’m pretty much obsessed with sweet potato mash.  I love how it sortof has a sweet and creamy flavour all at the same time. When I make sweet potato mash I always make a huge batch, none of this make a couple serving sizes, I cook up a kilo of sweet potatoes at a time.  There is only two of  us in our house so a kilo goes a long way!  Did you know sweet potatoes have almost twice as much fibre as white potatoes? They are also great for vitamin C & E, beta-carotene and manganese!

One of the brilliant things about sweet potato mash over regular mash is that it keeps really well the in the fridge and doesn’t go starchy and dry so easy to reheat and have as a side with another meal or you can ‘repurpose’ it into a whole new meal. I love doing this.  Probably a bit too much!  My sweet potato mash gets reinvented throughout the week until well, it’s all gone! Stay tuned for my re-purposing recipes!

We’ve got to start with the basic sweet potato mash:

Ingredients:

1 kg peeled and roughly chopped sweet potato
water (amount depends on whether you use a thermomix or traditional)
salt
20g organic butter

Thermomix Method:

Add 150g water, sweet potato, and salt to TM bowl cook 17 minutes on 100 speed 1.

Add butter, insert butterfly slowly turn up dial to speed 4 for 20 seconds.

Done!

Traditional Method:

Add sweet potato to a saucepan cover with water and boil until sweet potato goes tender (approximately 20 minutes).

Drain water from sweet potatoes and transfer to a bowl.

Add butter and salt, mash until soft and creamy.

About suesmartie

I'm a group fitness instructor, environmental scientist and passionate whole foods cook!

Leave a comment